The Empire Project

Sometimes my fingers hover over the keys for minutes. The start is the hardest part. I’ve always been the type to get a good idea once it’s too late. Not this time. When you’re an unworthy 20-year-old kid getting ready to tackle an internship for NBC in New York, its easy to realize that’s something worth documenting. That’s what the Empire Project is for.

I have another blog. I debated whether or not to create a separate one solely for my NYC experience, and decided if I didn’t create a project simply for this, I wouldn’t stay disciplined enough. I’m not sure what this will become, if anything other than my own self-indulgent writing. This may be the only post I ever put here. But at least I started at the beginning.

The internship is a great opportunity, but it is just one of a handful of variables that make this summer a chapter in my life worth writing about. In a lot of ways, this summer is my path to adulthood. It’s my last summer before I graduate. I turn 21 in June. It’s an opportunity to make headway in my professional life. But most importantly it’s a chance to learn, not only about journalism, but about myself.

I’ve been to New York before, but only for 3 days. I loved it, but it could have just been a honey moon period. It’s sort of like the way food tastes so much better when it isn’t your own. Maybe when I’ve been in the city for two, three, four weeks, monotony will take over. I doubt it.

It’s Thursday, May 6. I leave in 9 days. For now I’ll make due listening to the Eagles in my suburban Cincinnati home.

Posted on May 7, 2010, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

