The sleepless city’s soundtrack

I’m an addict. I can’t go a day without it or I go into withdrawal. I’m talking about music of course. I tend to make playlists, like most people my age. I like to be able to associate music with moments in my life. I hope that my trip to New York will be the same way. While I can’t predict what playlist will form itself over the 8 weeks that I’m there (I will most certainly be making one), I’d love to have a playlist for the days leading up to it.

I have some ideas so far, but I can always use suggestions. Right now my short list looks like this:

Empire State of Mind- Jay Z and Alicia Keys, as well as the Alicia Keys solo version

Bright Lights- Matchbox Twenty

New York, New York- Ryan Adams

Cab- Train

New York, New York- Frank Sinatra

Six songs, two of which are different versions of the same, isn’t going to cut it. If you have any suggestions please, please comment. It would be greatly appreciated.

Posted on May 8, 2010, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. Ian Hunter “Central Park and West”
    Talking Heads “Remain in Light” (entire record)
    Anyone’s great version of “Take the A Train”
    Richard Hell and the Voidoids “Blank Generation” (Look up the KY connex)
    More tk via email.

  2. the only living boy in new york – simon & garfunkel
    city love – john mayer
    hope this helps! 🙂

  3. off the top of my head waiting for my shuttle to orlando, then waiting again in orlando for my flight to the dirty D (then short drive to cinci)

    NY State of Mind – Nas
    NY State of Mind – Billy Joel
    Alphabet Town – Elliot Smith
    American Boy – Estelle ft Kanye West (kinda….)
    Bedstuy Parade and Funeral March – Mos Def
    Actually… literally any Jay-Z, B.I.G., or Mobb Deep/Mos Def song. Hova especially has his finger on the pulse of that city.
    Bulletproof Weeks – Matt Nathanson
    Chelsea – Counting Crows
    Elanor Put your Boots on – Franz Ferdinand
    I woke up in a car – something corporate
    New York – Ja Rule (duhhhh… IM FROM NEW YAAAWWWWKKKK)

    for all your other needs:
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_songs_about_New_York_City

  4. john mayer-who says
    john kelley-almost honest

  5. john mayer-who says
    josh kelley-almost honest

Leave a Reply

