The real world

Alfred Tennyson once wrote of a woman who was condemned to a life of watching the real world through the reflection of the mirror in her island tower. She could never again look directly at the world around her.

I feel as though the same has been true of my relationship with New York to date. I was only in the city for four days, four years ago- not long enough to breath in the life of a city that never sleeps. My most intimate experiences with the Big Apple have been through TV screens, movies and postcards.

“The Lady of Shallott” and I have a great deal more in common than I’d like to share. Fortunately, that all changes in five days…

Until then, please feel free to contribute to my “Going to New York” playlist, mentioned in the previous post. I’m still looking for suggestions. And thank you to those of you who have already commented and emailed me ideas.

Posted on May 10, 2010, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

