Learning the Ropes

After a solid afternoon nap, I feel like I’m finally ready to write something comprehensive about my first day up here.

The flights in were uneventful, totaling at less than two hours. That’s always good news. Waking up at 4am on the other hand is not.

Due to exhaustion I was a little out of it when I first got to the Ryan’s house. I was beyond thrilled to see the family again, but sleep was on my mind. I struggled to stay awake eating Panera (lunch at noon seems super later when you’ve already been up for eight hours at that point) and eventually got to take an hour nap. It wasn’t much but it did the job.

I finally got time to sit down and plot out my work day. I will get up at 6am Monday through Wednesday and catch a 6:57 train. It’ll take me into Grand Central Station, where I will in turn take a shuttle to CNBC. My workday ends around 6pm and I will be catching a 6:10 shuttle back to Grand Central station where I will take a train back to Darien.

Now, many people have been asking me exactly what it is I will be doing with CNBC. I finally received my contract back today, outlining what my specific responsibilities and tasks will be.

My responsibilities are as follows:

Learning Objectives:

1. Control Room functions and positions needed for both live and taped shows

2. Full understanding of all live, daily show elements

3. Difference between live shows and taped specials

4. Understanding of the news process and staying current with relevant news and events


Specific duties/tasks:

1.  Attend creative meetings

2.  Work with editorial teams to gather tape

3.  Research potential guests and topics

4.  Assist our talent with pre-production needs


Tangible outcomes of internship

1. Research skills

2. True, in-studio Production Assistant Experience

3. Exposure to Producer work – everything that goes into both live, daily shows, and taped TV specials

4. Understanding of business news and markets

It all sounds pretty incredible to me. I can’t wait to start on Monday. Tomorrow, however, will be spent figuring out exactly how the hell I’m going to get to work everyday.

Posted on May 15, 2010, in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Gooch from The Bronx

    If CNBC wants another Kramer who spells his name with a K instead of a C, I am available.

    While you are in Grand Central, go over to Zaros Bakery and have a Black and White cookie. You will love it. Guaranteed.

    Good luck Matt.

  2. Sarah Hackett

    tell pingy and the fam i say hiiiiii and skype me soon!!!! glad your first day went well, good luck tomorrow!

Leave a Reply

