Fast Money, faster work

The CNBC newsroom

“What do you bring to the table?” –  a cliche question jobs ask potential new employees and interns, and more often than not the answer is nothing but wasted breathe. In reality, most often an intern brings nothing more than other people’s coffee to the table.

Lucky for me, executive producer of primetime development Mary Duffy, and more directly, CNBC production coordinator Kara Boodakian believe otherwise.

They see an internship as an opportunity to learn, not to do slave labor. Sure, I was given a busy-work tasks (organizing Fast Money tapes) to do while Kara was in production meetings. But when she was free, she took me all over CNBC headquarters, introducing me to various people who taught me about their positions and job responsibilities.

A favorite of mine was Mike Rosetti, the control room director. Sitting in the control room during the live airing of Fast Money was one of the most stressful things I have ever seen. Everyone is yelling obscenities, things always deviate from the original plan, yet somehow thanks to Mike and the team of producers, everyone watching at home would have no idea. At one point, Maria (a producer) actually yelled “We’re all fucked.” Mike told me this is commonplace.

A CNBC control room. Mike's bald head in the bottom right. Sorry it's blurry, I had to be sneaky so as not to look like a tool taking a picture

Highlight of the day- I had lunch with Kara, and we talked about one another and our pasts, typical small talk. I mentioned in passing that I am a big Jimmy Fallon fan. 20 minutes later she emailed me 5 dates and told me to pick one and she would get me tickets to go. Unbelievable.

My desk at CNBC

This city truly never sleeps. And I’m starting to understand why.In this city if you sleep, let alone blink, you’re bound to miss something.

Posted on May 18, 2010, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. That’s awesome! I’m glad you’re enjoying it and learning a lot.

    I’m so jealous you get to go see Jimmy Fallon. I really, really hope you’re there (and get chosen!) on a night when they tape that segment when you act out a scene in reverse. Hopefully you know what I’m talking about. If not, I just sound dumb. Oh well.

    • Of course I know what you’re talking about. I’m the biggest Jimmy Fallon fan there is. Although if I get picked, I want it to be for the Roots to freestyle about me, or to Lick it for Ten

Leave a Reply

