Turn the Page

It’s hard to stay disciplined. But its been a good thing. I’ve had trouble posting recently due to a busy past week, but it’s good to be back.

Last week, I went with the Ryans to Boston, where the boys had a club soccer tournament. It was a great way to spend Memorial day weekend. I just can’t believe it’s already June. I am three weeks into the internship and only a month remains. Time is really starting to fly.

This week brought in two new interns, and the discovery that Kara Boodakian was promoted to be a producer for a new show with NBC. Her replacement, Amanda, I had the privelage of showing around the studios last week, and apparently she was hired the very next day. Amanda is about two years older than me. Unbelievable. She seems great so far and I look forward to the next month with her.

The interns are pretty quiet, but then again I guess I was too for my first week. I’m curious to see if they open up.

The biggest development of the past week is my growing interest in the Page Program. For those of you that have seen 30 Rock, Kenneth is a page. It is essentially the equivalent of a mail room position.

The way the program works is that it lasts one year, the first few weeks of which you pay your dues, giving tours of 30 Rock and the like. After that, however, you are given 12 week assignments to various NBC, CNBC and MSNBC shows such as SNL, Jimmy Fallon, Fast Money, Suze Orman, Keith Oberman, etc. You rotate through a couple of those during your year stay.

Page’s are paid, but not much. Essentially they are one step above an intern, but they are on the payroll and it is extremely selective. Allegedly nearly 7,000 people apply each year, and only 60 get positions and most often it leads to good enough contacts to get hired by the network at some point. Interns must have a background in Journalism, have a 3.0 GPA and more often than not, a strong recommendation from someone within the network.

Now I just pray I will have earned enough merit to have someone put a good word in for me before I graduate in May…

Posted on June 3, 2010, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Work hard and be kind to others and the rest will take care of itself!

  2. Mr. Murray hits it on the head. Do the best you can and treat others the way you would like to be treated and good things will happen.

    -Kraze

Leave a Reply

