The days between

When I first started this blog, it was warm out. I remember my very first post. It was written somewhere in those purgatory days between the end of the school year and my move to New York for the summer. It comes to mind because I sit here with my window open, iTunes in the background, writing. I haven’t done this since last year. I spent the last six months bottled up inside, away from the cold with everyone else. There’s something freeing about the warm weather.

I remember in the days leading up to that move last May, I was scared as hell. Sure I was excited- on paper at least. I was headed up to work for CNBC in New York city. It was a cool thing to be able to tell people, but when the number of days between you and that reality keep shrinking, it gets more and more real. You begin to wonder what the reality of that chapter of your life will be like.

I didn’t know what to expect from 10 weeks, and the first three days were terrifying. On tap of adapting to the work you have to adapt to the biggest city on the planet. But the overwhelming essence of it all quickly began to fade and it was quickly replaced with a love for a city and different side of a profession that I’d always loved. A side that wasn’t necessarily on paper or on a computer screen.

I’m still not exactly sure where I belong, but I know that the NBC Page Program is built around a pillar of belief that states that people should be able to try a host of angles at a profession of interest, and thats exactly what I need in my life. So with this renewed season, I hope comes a renewal in a willingness to try new things. Not to mention an introduction of the opportunity to do so. April 18th can’t get here soon enough.

Posted on April 4, 2011, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

